Email whenoneplusone@gmail.com to join our list!


When 1+1=1
by Gabriela "la Moldava" Condrea

Reviews

Press       Reviews

Press:

"When 1+1=1: Meeting dancer/writer Gabriela Condrea"
by Rob Nuijten, Editor/publisher of torito.nl (Tango in the Netherlands)



Interview with Gabriela Condrea by Terry Benioff, March 2012

Everything from her writing process to empathy to why she connects with tango. Plus, meet The Yellow Hippopotamus!

Have a question for Gabriela? Contact her directly.







Reviews:

“You have some amazing words of wisdom in that little book of yours.... I'm reading a page at random before heading off to work each day... It all resonates....”

- Ralph Cohen (London, UK), November 2011

“Gabriela makes "the 'impossible' connection" possible for us all. And not just in tango. I will be recommending this book to friends and therapy clients who are struggling with co-creating relationships of equality. I am placing this book by my bed-side, to remind me of my part in creating real intimacy with others.” (continued)

- Selene David (Seattle, USA) August 2011

“Me acuciaba principalmente el conocer que era lo que podía percibir y escribir sobre el tango alguien tan joven… Y mi curiosidad al comprar el libro, el riesgo de encontrar material repetido, se ha visto compensada por la sorpresa y admiración de que alguien tan joven, y en tan corto tiempo, haya captado cosas tan esenciales y profundas… ahora continuo mi camino tanguero con una actitud y expectativa distintas a las de hace una semana. Tu eres (vos sos) responsable de haber inspirado la diferencia. Y por ello te estoy muy agradecido.” (continued)

- Dr. Nestor Pieroni (Vienna, Austria), October 2011

“I was skeptical about this book, because when people try to write about tango, they’re writing about emotions and they usually fall short. In this case however it’s different. It’s as if instead of explaining them, Gabriela makes space for the emotions with her words.”

- Marco (Munich, Germany), October 2011

The day after purchasing When 1+1=1:
“I have read your book. I went to sleep at 5:00 AM... It was like having a conversation over coffee and somebody telling her experience. In many aspects it was very refreshing because you were articulating many feelings and situations that I have experienced, so it gives a sense of validation. In other aspects, it was nice too because it made me reflect and see a slightly different point of view. I enjoy it very much and I hope that you can write more about your experiences.”

- Eduardo (Vancouver, Canada), August 2011

“I was very lucky and got your book for my birthday. I simply love it!!! There is so much wisdom in it. It's been making my day and shedding light in it.”

- Katerina (Brussels, Belgium), October 2011

“I like the philosophy in it and the way you compare it to real life.”

- Josephine (Amsterdam, Netherlands), October 2011

"When 1 + 1 = 1 ...." is indispensable for lovers and dancers" (from Amazon.com)
“I have read many books on loving relationships and I have danced Tango Argentino for more than 15 years, in which time I have visited Buenos Aires three times. What is so amazing about this book is the author's ability to use such simple English and occasionally Spanish, whilst she glides almost imperceptibly between tango and relationships, touching on recognized philosophical concepts for good measure. Certainly the best I have ever read on relationships and to be commended to both dancers and teachers of tango. Muchas gracias Gabriela.”

- David Percy, February 2013

Full reviews continued from above...


From Selene David (full version):

“I finished reading this book last night. I would have finished the night before, but I could feel the last few pages of the book in my hand, and could not bear for it to end. -If there is any real measure for "good" tango, this must be it, that ourselves and the one dancing with us are so engaged together, that neither wants the dance to end.

Gabriela makes "the 'impossible' connection" possible for us all. And not just in tango. I will be recommending this book to friends and therapy clients who are struggling with co-creating relationships of equality. I am placing this book by my bed-side, to remind me of my part in creating real intimacy with others.

Please do not pick up this book thinking you will learn sequences, steps, "moves". However, if you give yourself over to what Gabriela has written, you will learn what she is teaching, the felt sense of tango.

And I will also recommend this book to anyone who wants to hear the voice of an excellent writer. Gabriela has written what feels to me like a tango memoir. The tone is intimate, like the dancing she describes. It is a generous book in the truest sense of the word, offering to the reader, the best of Gabriela’s tango experiences and wisdom.

If you are a beginner, this book will encourage you & invite you to the dance floor.

If you are an experienced dancer, I hope you will also open your heart and your body.

Like all things of value, tango is a lifetime practice.

Gabriela, Bravissimo!”

- Selene David (Seattle, USA) August 2011


From Nestor Pieroni (full version):

“Hace exactamente una semana, el jueves 13 .10.2011, en la milonga del “Tangobar” bailé una tanda de tangos con alguien a quien veía por primera vez, es decir, una desconocida. Varias tandas después esa persona fue presentada como la autora del libro “When 1 + 1 + 1”. Agradablemente sorprendido de que la escritora, “la Moldava”, era la persona con quien había bailado minutos antes, me intereso conocer el contenido del libro.

Libros sobre tangos hay numerosos, existen en varios idiomas y podrían llenar metros de estantería en una biblioteca. Solo leí unos pocos en español, ingles y alemán. Sin embargo conozco que es muy difícil escribir algo sobre tango que ya no esta descripto y/o explorado en alguna publicación. Si ahora compraba otro libro, el “When 1 + …”, no lo hacia solamente por el hecho fortuito de haber bailado con su autora. Me acuciaba principalmente el conocer que era lo que podía percibir y escribir sobre el tango alguien tan joven… como habrás seguramente escuchado o leído, se dice que solo después de haber sobrepasado la edad de 50 años se “comienza” a comprender el tango.

Tus paginas, escritas como un conjunto de notas, invitan a una lectura rápida y sin embargo atenta. He subrayado un buen numero de párrafos y oraciones para releer. Encuentro en varias partes conceptos conocidos provenientes de conocimientos vivenciales y/o místicos (Zen, Tao, etc.) aplicados dentro del contexto del tango. Algunos de estos aspectos están en alguna medida presentados en otras publicaciones.

El valor principal que encuentro en el libro es el reflejo de aquellas percepciones que un “new comer” tiene al ingresar al mundo del tango. Creo que allí esta la mayor fuerza e interés particular. Y el beneficio que su lectura puede brindar a tantos que están comenzado, o ya llevan andado un buen trayecto, el camino sin fin de aprender a bailar el tango. Algunos de tus capítulos concretamente describen y elaboran sobre errores, angustias, miedos y limitaciones que muchos enfrentamos en el arduo camino de convertirnos en “tangueros”. Por ello creo que todo tanguero o aspirante a serlo te estará muy agradecido hayas recogido tantos elementos reales y prácticos “tips” , que pueden significativamente facilitar la marcha.

Y mi curiosidad al comprar el libro, el riesgo de encontrar material repetido, se ha visto compensada por la sorpresa y admiración de que alguien tan joven, y en tan corto tiempo, haya captado cosas tan esenciales y profundas, muchas de las cuales los “maestros” no explican a los que se inician y -en no pocos casos- no son conocidas tampoco para los ya iniciados.

En la dedicatoria que tuviste la gentileza de escribir en el libro, me dices “…Espero que encuentres momentos en estas paginas que te inspiren…”. Esta noche iré nuevamente a la milonga del “Tangobar”. Me apena que no te encontraré (hoy estas en Innsbruck), pues me hubiera gustado decirte, en una pausa entre los tangos de la tanda, que ahora continuo mi camino tanguero con una actitud y expectativa distintas a las de hace una semana. Tu eres (vos sos) responsable de haber inspirado la diferencia. Y por ello te estoy muy agradecido.

Mi considero muy afortunado de ser tu lector, uno entre los muchos que deseo sean destinatarios de tu libro.”

- Dr. Nestor Pieroni (Vienna, Austria) October 2011


More reviews of When 1+1=1 can be found at When 1+1=1 by Gabriela Condrea



Post your review on Amazon, Facebook, and/or email it in. It's always great to hear your thoughts!